“The days I stay home with my kids without going out, I start to get ill.”

Ah, she gets a headache, too.

So quipped the First Lady in an interview in 2007. The full Monty:

Every year, Michelle Obama considers quitting her job and staying home full-time to take care of her children. “It was a gift having my mother home every day. I want my kids to feel that way,” she says. But having experienced the pleasures of work outside the home, she is reluctant to give up her independence. “Work is rewarding,” she says. “I love losing myself in a set of problems that have nothing to do with my husband and children. Once you’ve tasted that, it’s hard to walk away.”

So difficult to walk away. Why would your children’s problems ever be more important than ones with no connection or bearing to your family?

Then, too, there is that little-discussed fact that staying home with children can be—how else to put it?—less than intellectually stimulating. “The days I stay home with my kids without going out, I start to get ill,” she says. “My head starts to ache.” When she mentioned it to her mother, Marian Robinson told her daughter she didn’t think Michelle could handle the boredom of staying home with kids. Obama was surprised to hear that taking care of her had been boring, but now she embraces the idea of discussing it openly.

The boredom. It’s funny, I’m so busy I’m rarely bored.

Bored? What the hell did Michelle do on sick days? Stay in bed herself? Luckily for Michelle, the family decided they couldn’t live on Barack’s humble salary of $162k. How military families like mine decide it’s in the family’s best interest to have me stay home must be a mystery as we do it for much less than $162k a year. Then again, I do know how to cook. That saves a boatload, I guess.

H/t to Pundette for the illuminating Vogue interview with our esteemed First Lady.

7 Responses

  1. […] Second, it must be true that staying home is a luxury reserved for the wealthy.  And oh, looky, right on cue, the President enters stage left with his ridiculous claim that they couldn’t afford the “luxury” of Michelle staying home.  (Never-you-mind about the First Lady’s opinion.  That was way back in 2007 when she said that staying home makes her ill.) […]

  2. […] Second, it must be true that staying home is a luxury reserved for the wealthy.  And oh, looky, right on cue, the President enters stage left with his ridiculous claim that they couldn’t afford the “luxury” of Michelle staying home.  (Never-you-mind about the First Lady’s opinion.  That was way back in 2007 when she said that staying home makes her ill.) […]

  3. Priceless find, PJ. Obama’s waxing all “we didn’t have the luxury,” meanwhile the truth about Michelle’s priorities were right here on the ‘net the whole time.

  4. “Then, too, there is that little-discussed fact that staying home with children can be—how else to put it?—less than intellectually stimulating.” Oh, that’s it. We are all stupid.

  5. […] is disingenuous at best.And no, since becoming a mother I can’t recall one day of boredom.H/T Political Junkie MomTweetvaso linkTags: Barack Obama, boring, headache, luxury, michelle obama, motherhood, stay at home […]

  6. I wrote down everything I did the other day. Actually I was too busy to include everything, but it was an overview of what I did for the day. I run around like a lunatic so I don’t have time to be bored, and I am way too exhausted at the end of every day to think that I don’t work.

  7. Yeah, Barack and Moochelle couldn’t afford to scrape by on a mere $162k back in the early ’90s, when a gallon of gas cost a whopping $1.16, they had to shell out 8 cents for an egg, and a stamp put them back a quarter. That was back in the day when the future emperor and empress hadn’t yet figured out how to make everyone else pay their freight.

    How can the innocent smiles of little children compete with the intellectual stimulation of living by larceny? It’s quite a commentary that Moochelle expects the rest of us to know the answer to that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 342 other followers

