Paging Rosa Parks

He. Did. Not. Say. That. (yes, he did)

From Yahoo

[The President] said Republicans had driven the economy into a ditch and then stood by and criticized while Democrats pulled it out. Now that progress has been made, he said, “we can’t have special interests sitting shotgun. We gotta have middle class families up in front. We don’t mind the Republicans joining us. They can come for the ride, but they gotta sit in back.”

Where to begin? I can’t identify what angers me the most… The suggestion that “progress” has been made? [Insert derisive snort here].  Or could it be the President using such charged symbolism in verbally segregating a group of people based on political beliefs, rather than color.  

Pardon me as I channel Mr. Caprio…President Obama, you can take your ride…..”and shove it

I probably couldn’t get on “the ride” anyway – where would I sit – being a middle class gal and Republican….

3 Responses

  1. Yes, well I *thought* using words that hearken back to a sad time in our history was distasteful…I guess in case anyone missed it he decided to go ahead and throw it out there in plain English…”punish our enemies”

    Wow.

    I’ve disagreed with sitting presidents before – and I’m sure had they known my positions, they would have disagreed with me, too – but never did I think the President of MY country would call ME an ENEMY because I don’t agree with him on what’s important.

  2. Of course he wants to bring along some Republicans–somebody is going to have to do the paying, and he clearly doesn’t intend for it to be his “friends.”

    And who does he intend to put Republicans in the back of the bus?

    ““If Latinos sit out the election instead of saying, ‘We’re going to punish our enemies and we’re gonna reward our friends who stand with us on issues that are important to us,’ if they don’t see that kind of upsurge in voting in this election, then I think it’s going to be harder and that’s why I think it’s so important that people focus on voting on November 2.”

  3. Completely agree. The reason for the economic downturn had nothing to do with Bush economic policies. It was this absurd policy of giving mortgages to people who couldn’t afford them. We’re one week away from all of us telling Obama to shove it.

Leave a Reply

