Not so funny, really.

When Stephen Colbert testified (in character!) a couple of months ago before the House Judiciary Committee’s Subcommittee on Immigration, Citizenship, Refugees, Border Security, and International Law, I remember shaking my head in disbelief.  Celebrities stumping for a cause is no new thing, but what’s next….Angelina Jolie errr Lara Croft addressing the same Subcommittee on displaced persons?

So reading this today lost some of its shock value. 

Apparently in April of this year, Treasury Secretary Geithner visited with Jon Stewart in a meeting about the U.S. Economy. 

Jon Stewart is influential in America, so we took the opportunity for the two to meet and to discuss the economy,” per an email from Treasury spokesman Steve Adamske. 

I checked the date of the meeting.  It was April 2.  If it was supposed to be an April Fool’s stunt, it was a day late and a dollar short, if you ask me.

UPDATE: linked by P&P.  Thanks!

4 Responses

  1. Thank you, Steve!

    PJM: I’m with you on the outrage. Just when I think I’ve reached my capacity…. I find myself having to unclench my jaw yet again.

  2. I agree! (And I’m happy to have some company!)

    TMT: I saw this today and … it feels like more of the same from this clownish administration, no? I’ve nearly lost my capacity for outrage. Nearly. They haven’t quite stripped me of it completely. Yet! Two more years of this nonsense.
    (Was this how our parents felt during the Carter administration? ‘Cause the inflation is coming down the pike, too.)

  3. Awesome post! Keep up the GREAT work!!

    Steve
    Common Cents
    http://www.commoncts.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

