Mr. West Wing all wee-weed up over a television show

Oh, my. We’re of the cable-less sort, so I’ve yet to see clips not on youtube or blogs.  But I want to sincerely thank Sarah Palin for the show on Discovery if only to see liberals wet their pants weekly over its content. 

Exhibit A: Hollywood dude Aaron Sorkin writing at HuffPo.  He whines:

“Unless you’ve never worn leather shoes, sat upon a leather chair or eaten meat, save your condemnation.”

You’re right, Sarah, we’ll all just go *&^% ourselves now. [My edit].

The snotty quote was posted by Sarah Palin on (like all the great frontier women who’ve come before her) her Facebook page to respond to the criticism she knew and hoped would be coming after she hunted, killed and carved up a Caribou during a segment of her truly awful reality show, Sarah Palin’s Alaska, broadcast on The-Now-Hilariously-Titled Learning Channel.

Ooh! “Snotty!” The manicured claws come out! More:

I eat meat, chicken and fish, have shoes and furniture made of leather, and PETA is not ever going to put me on the cover of their brochure and for these reasons Palin thinks it’s hypocritical of me to find what she did heart-stoppingly disgusting. I don’t think it is, and here’s why.

Like 95% of the people I know, I don’t have a visceral (look it up) problem eating meat or wearing a belt. But like absolutely everybody I know, I don’t relish the idea of torturing animals. I don’t enjoy the fact that they’re dead and I certainly don’t want to volunteer to be the one to kill them and if I were picked to be the one to kill them in some kind of Lottery-from-Hell, I wouldn’t do a little dance of joy while I was slicing the animal apart.

What a pogue.  “Like all my effete, liberal Hollywood friends, I enjoy buying my organic meats from Whole Foods, all wrapped up with cellophane–but only after I put on a glove to bag it in another layer of cellophane because I don’t want my hands to get dirty. Eeew! I like to eat it, and I like to wear it! But I’m not going to hunt it because that is so crass and beneath my station in life.  Besides, I wouldn’t be able to shoot let alone get the carcass home in my ‘Vette.  Because it might get dirty. Like you, you’re dirty!   And conservative and mean. Like all people with guns who shoot animals and dare call me out for eating them but passing judgement on you. We’re not alike. At all!”

Sorkin then goes on to moan a little more, like all sanctimonious meat-eating leather-wearing Hollywood liberals who would never kill and animal and eat it do:

I’m able to make a distinction between you and me without feeling the least bit hypocritical. I don’t watch snuff films and you make them. You weren’t killing that animal for food or shelter or even fashion, you were killing it for fun. You enjoy killing animals. I can make the distinction between the two of us but I’ve tried and tried and for the life of me, I can’t make a distinction between what you get paid to do and what Michael Vick went to prison for doing.

Hey, Sorkin, I tried and can find the distinction between you and Palin quickly, too.  I’d invite her to my  home. You, not so much. 

And as Gateway Pundit asked, so Michael Vick ate dog, eh?

Jackass.

Greg Pollowitz at NRO:

So as long as Aaron Sorkin has no idea how the animals are killed that fill his billy, cushion his buttocks, or shelter his feet, then it’s okay? I guarantee that caribou suffered far less than any of the farm-raised meat products Sorkin consumes every day. And his statement, “you enjoy killing animals” is ridiculous. She killed the animal for food. Again, Sorkin is happy to have someone else kill his animals for him, but those who actually do the killing are somehow “faux-macho s***heads?” If Sorkin is so against the actual killing of animals, he should grab a lettuce wrap and shut up.

Damn skippy.  Sorkin comes off as one of those arrogant know-it-alls who wouldn’t understand that hunting keeps animal populations healthy.  Hunters are good.  Yes, they have permits to prevent over-hunting.  And yes, they eat what they kill.  Proudly.

UPDATE: Dan Rhiel has the episode video.

UPDATE: linked & tweeted by Pundette.  Thanks!

5 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Pundette, politicaljunkieMom. politicaljunkieMom said: Mr. West Wing all wee-weed up over a television show: http://wp.me/pKYgb-tK […]

  2. Sarah Palin faces her human nature and the consequences of her actions very directly. That helps account for the clarity of her thinking and her poise.

    The “let’s look away and pretend that it isn’t happening” routine of the Libs is what’s getting (and keeping) us all in trouble.

  3. I’ve watched every episode so far of her show. It’s interesting and I’ve learned a lot about Sarah. And the scenery is magnificent. I will be honest in that when she shot the caribou and it crumpled to the ground, I winced. I am a weanie, totally admit it. But if they are hunting legally and properly (ie, not cruelly or torturing the animals) how can we judge them? We saw them cutting up the meet to put in their freezer. There is nothing wrong with hunting in this manner. Just because we’re not all cut out for it doesn’t mean it’s wrong. Grrrr.

    • Lisa, I’m intrigued by the show (just not enough to get cable). And I can only imagine re the scenery. I know so many people who have been stationed in Alaska, and even the ones I wouldn’t expect to love it and want to return.

      I would have an incredibly difficult time watching a hunt, too. (I just watched “The Girl with a Dragon Tattoo” cold–without having read the book or knowing anything about it. I thought it brutal and turned it off a few times. Weenie personified. I don’t handle violence well.) But when our friends and neighbors offer meat from their ventures, I’m happy to receive it. Every hunter I know is a conservationist at heart and respects the animals and the hunt. If I had a dollar for every liberal enviro nut I’ve met who wants to ban hunting to “save the animals,” I’d be rich. I’ve wasted too many words trying to explain to liberals that hunting saves the population as a whole from starvation, but it’s a fruitless conversation.

Leave a Reply

