What is love, or Why we have children

If you read anything today, make it this. Timpothy Dalrymple, Why we have children.  A taste:

We have no choice but to give ourselves for our children, but we learn that in giving ourselves we receive our selves. In the frailty of this little form that called such an immense love out of me, this bundle of winsome life and running legs and embracing arms, I share in the quintessentially human condition of loving recklessly what is fragile, fleeting, and at risk.

Enjoy your Sunday.  The sun is out.  I have to make the most of pre-snow, pre sub-zero highs.  Will be back once sun is down.

6 Responses

  1. I take back all my comments about not wanting children because they are too hard. That was a beautiful story I will read again and again!

  2. I had mine late due to health problems. Matter of fact I was told no way no how, and then I got the shock of my life.

    We adore him and I believe he feels the same!!!

    There is nothing like hearing I love you Mommy, You’re beautiful Mommy. It is an amazing feeling and I for the life of me don’t understand those who abuse their kids.

    And they smell so good when they are little 🙂

  3. What an awesome essay! However, what he doesn’t say is how new baby’s skin and hair fee so soft and velvety. 🙂

    • I think I miss how she just *fit* in my arms perfectly as a baby. Though no matter how much she grows, she still does, just in a different cuddle!

Leave a Reply

