It’s off to the funny farm for you…Reason 10,012 to homeschool Update: More school insanity

Technically it’s probably reason 10,013 because I think a good argument could be made that nasty school lunches qualify as another good reason to homeschool.  Especially when you can make even brussel sprouts taste yummy…But I digress…

From KSEE News in California (where else, eh?)

Imagine if you will that you are a military wife and the love of your life is getting ready to go on deployment.  You have a six year old boy who is just old enough to realize not only that Daddy will be gone…but also Daddy will be in danger.  Understandably, your son has shown some anxiety about this – enough that you’ve brought him to a therapist who has been helping with these issues.  

One morning you realize that its not a good day for your son – you know he’s off his game.  He doesn’t want to go to school but you insist in order to keep the day as routine as possible.  A little later in the day you get a phone call from the school…..

Your son drew a violent picture and in it said that he wanted to die.  You of course treat this with a great deal of seriousness and rush to the school immediately, planning on getting him to your therapist THAT SAME DAY. 

But you can’t.  

Because you see, the school has decided that it’s “out of your hands” – the ambulance is on its way.  Your six year old little boy, who is already anxious because of impending separation from his father, is going to be taken away from you too in an ambulance (and may I say as a former EMT – children don’t enjoy being in the back of an ambulance) – to a psych evaluation for 72 hours without your consent

The mom in this scenario, Syndi Dorman, said she had to reassure her son that she was going to come back for him

He was kept for 48 hours and released.  She says that he’s now afraid of going to school because he thinks they are going to take him away again.

LAUSD superintendent Ramon Cortines released a statement, saying in part, “when any student indicates a desire to take his or her own life, the LAUSD is required to follow strict protocols to ensure the safety of the student. The safety of LAUSD students is paramount. We did the right thing here.”

The right thing? Adding to the trauma of a young child? In whose book and by what definition is that the right thing, exactly?

Full story with video here.

So as a mom, I have to give approval for Tylenol to be given to my child at school.  If my child gets hurt or gets sick, I have the choice of where I go to take him to get treated – do I keep him at home to recoup, do I take him to the family doctor, to the ER?    But if he draws a threatening picture while at school…. presto bamo I suddenly lose my ability to seek the level of care? Because the school or the government knows my child and what he needs better than I do?

UPDATE: linked at P&P as a featured blog. Thanks!

UPDATE: Comments from a reader Christine:

Yep, another VERY good reason to homeschool! As a kid, I used to draw violent pictures all the time whenever I was angry or upset about something. I know my mom got calls from the teachers about it, but it was just a way to express my feelings at the time. Kids have trouble expressing their feelings sometimes and drawing and being hyper melodramatic about it is part of that expression. I hope that mom is going to homeschool now!

How’s THIS for timing…

An eleven year old was ARRESTED for doing what his therapist TOLD him to do…he was instructed by his therapist to draw a picture when he became frustrated, rather than disrupting the class.  So, he got upset in class and draw a stick figure with a gun and wrote “Teachers must die” on it.  He felt better and threw it away.  The teacher fished it out of the trashcan and the following ensued…

The school was aware of the boy’s medical condition and after deciding he was not a threat, notified his parents and sent him back to class.

But that night police arrived at his home and took him away, refusing to let his parents accompany him to the station.

The boy was charged with “Interfering with staff and students”.   Let’s review: Teacher and principal decided he wasn’t a threat and sent him back to class.  Umm…when exactly was he interfering?  At home that evening when he was arrested in handcuffs?

Reminds me of when I worked in the school system as a school based mental health counselor.  One of my students was always in trouble for cursing, fighting, disruption, etc.  We started with the cursing problem.  I told him to try my technique of saying a funny word instead of a bad word – that way you are not using bad words and sometimes the funny word will cheer you up.  He selected daffodils.  That very same afternoon he was sent to the principal’s office for cursing.  He was angry at the teacher and blurted out, “You daffy daffy daffodil!” She wanted him suspended for the crime.  I explained to them both how we were starting with baby steps.  The teacher was indignant. “No one calls ME a daffodil!”   Sigh.  I won’t relate what I was silently calling her… it wasn’t bright yellow flowers, I tell ya!

4 Responses

  1. Yep, another VERY good reason to homeschool! As a kid, I used to draw violent pictures all the time whenever I was angry or upset about something. I know my mom got calls from the teachers about it, but it was just a way to express my feelings at the time. Kids have trouble expressing their feelings sometimes and drawing and being hyper melodramatic about it is part of that expression. I hope that mom is going to homeschool now!

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Samantha Davis, politicaljunkieMom. politicaljunkieMom said: It's off to the funny farm for you…Reason 10,012 to homeschool: http://t.co/2hGLwsB […]

  3. Holy crap. I would so sue the pants off them. I can’t even imagine. Except that I can. One of mine is really anxiety-prone and if he said the wrong thing during a meltdown, I can totally see this happening.

    Thank the Lord he is old enough now to understand that folks freak out when you say certain things so you can’t say ’em.

    A lighter note: when we were offered “art therapy” b/c my son has anxiety issues, he read the invitation over my shoulder and got a glint in his eye. “If I had to do art therapy, I’d just draw really violent pictures to REALLY scare them.”

    I couldn’t help but laugh. He’s got his Dad’s sick sense of humor.

  4. This hits a nerve but after a long day with a toddler who still doesn’t quite understand why daddy isn’t home.

    “We did the right thing?!” Really? By traumatizing a child whose anxiety level is already through the roof? By traumatizing a mother whose nerves are already raw? So much for being able to protect your kid.

    We always joke that Murphy’s Law has a way of making the shit hit the fan as soon as the plane takes off. But this, this is lawsuit. And I would fight it with my last dime and dying breath.

Leave a Reply

