“So perfectly organized a structure, it was hard not to attribute divinity to it.”

So says Alexander Tsarias of collagen and how the structure changes within the human body. Watch the TED lecture and marvel.

Tsarias:

The magic of the mechanisms inside each genetic structure saying exactly where that nerve cell should go– the complexity of these, the mathematical models of how these things are indeed done are beyond human comprehension. Even though I’m a mathematician, I look at this with a marvel of how did these instruction sets not make mistakes as they build what is us. It’s a mystery, its magic, its divinity.

We need more men like this in science and art–in this life, no? More men to speak plainly the truth of that mystery, magic, and divinity apparent in each human being and to breathe life into the art of science. To show the miracle of life and living. I’ve been a little awed by it myself lately.

My apologies for the extended absence. It’s a long and rather boring story. But I’m back on the wagon. With hope.

H/t: CMR

13 Responses

  1. I really enjoyed that vid, too. Welcome back, and are you saying what I think you are saying? That congrats are in order?

  2. I’ve seen the video elsewhere, but it’s definitely worth seeing again. Thanks. I’m an engineer, and while as a young man went astray with atheism, it was my dealing with science that brought me back as a believer. The more you fathom science, them more you realize that it could not be an accident. Believing that life is an accident is like believing that if you gave a monkey a typewriter and let him bang away long enough that at some point he will write a Shakespeare play.

    • Oops, I forgot to say welcome back!

      • Thanks, Manny. ; )
        I’ve missed my gang of regular commenters. Kinda wild to have connections to people I’ve never met and with whom I share regular dialogue on, well, so many important discussions. Kinda cool, too.

  3. Hey, welcome back! And congratulations! (For a while, sleep any time you can.)

    • Thanks, QR. Unfortunately naps went out the window several months ago for pjKid. Unfortunately we don’t allow much tv, either. I’ve been lured into the tv-to-get-a-nap trap out of sheer deperation this week, but had to put an end to it today, when I realized that the bartering for more had already begun. Sigh. I’m getting 8-10 at night, but that’s not enough to get through the day!

  4. Glad you are ok and back.

  5. Glad to see you are back! I can’t watch the video b/c kids are not napping yet, but the picture makes me miss being pregnant. Never thought I’d say it.

Leave a Reply

