Newtrick Peringrinchum runs away with the race; Mitt gives multiple answers as to how he’s feeling

I come to a different conclusion than Jim Geraghty does upon adding the “conservative” support against Mitt, but here are the numbers:

Looking at some polls out today and yesterday though the lens of “Newtrick Perigrinchum,” a figure who would unify all of the supporters of Newt Gingrich, Rick Santorum, and Rick Perry:

Rasmussen’s latest in Florida: Romney 41, Newtrick Perigrinchum 36.

Insider Advantage, South Carolina: Romney 23, Newtrick Perigrinchum 40.

Gallup tracking, national: Romney 31, Newtrick Perigrinchum 37.

I’m not the only conservative on the planet who sees Newt and Perry’s line of attack against Mitt as justified. There’s a difference between “capitalism” and forcing taxpayers to bail out pension funds for laid-off workers after you’ve gutted a company for all it’s worth. Just sayin’. It tickled me this morning to see Sarah Palin asking for proof of Mitt’s claims to have created 100,000 jobs. Much like his tax returns, we’ll never see proof of anything.

More on those 100,000 jobs:

Rick Tyler, former Gingrich aide and head of Newt Gingrich’s Super PAC, has already accused Romney of having created those 100,000 jobs in Asia and Mexico. Earlier this week, Big Government pointed out that Romney’s claim to have created 100,000 jobs contrasts with claims he made during his 1994 U.S. Senate campaign, when he claimed to have created10,000 jobs at Bain. Romney retired from Bain Capital in 1999.

Heh. Why shouldn’t it be surprising that Multiple-Choice Mitt has, um, added a zero?

(Is it just me, or is nominating liberal’s idea of a dream candidate the craziest thing evah? The grandfather of Obamacare? Sure he’ll repeal it! Open candidate, unlike The One who continues to hide his own personal papers? Surely he’ll open his tax records! Give me a break!)

(And yes, for the first time in my adult life I wonder if I’ll be able to hold my nose long enough to vote for the anointed non-Republican. I never dreamed this would happen in all the Tea Party rallies I attended with my then-newborn baby. How incredibly sad that even supposed Tea supporters have blinders on to the reality of what an Obama-Romney match up would look like let alone the damage a RINO like Romney–who appointed liberal activist judges, who tells Planned Parenthood hacks that pro-lifers are rubes, who created the architecture for Obamacare. A clue: bloodbath.).

Meanwhile, why is Rick Santorum still garnering any support? Via RedState, Santorum’s own words. He’s a redistributionist at home with the best of the the liberals:

I suspect some will dismiss my ideas as just an extended version of ‘compassionate conservatism.’ Some will reject what I have said as a kind of ‘Big Government Conservatism.’ Some will say that what I’ve tried to argue isn’t conservatism at all. But I believe what I’ve been presenting is the genuine conservatism our Founders envisioned. One that fosters the opportunity for all Americans to live as we are called to live, in selfless families that contribute to the general welfare, the common good.

-Conclusion, p. 421; audio here

It’s better for everyone to spread the wealth! The Founders would’ve agreed! How inspiring.

What a great ad that would be.

I’m growing more cynical about this race by the day, and it pains me.

 

Leave a Reply

