“I do my religion Sunday in Church…” UPDATED

So says Nancy Pelosi in reply to questions posed by CNS News regarding the recent suits filed by 43 Catholic institutions and dioceses against the HHS contraception mandate.

Oh….and Bishops don’t speak for the Catholic Church….erm…. or something…HotAir covers that here.

But back to “Doing Religion”

Ma’am,

I do my laundry Monday at home.

I do my banking Tuesday at the Credit Union.

I do my grocery shopping Wednesday at Wegmans.

I do my doctor’s appointments Thursday at the clinic.

I do my date nights Friday at the Taco Bell.

I do yard work Saturday at home.

But….I go Sunday to Church to celebrate Mass.

live my religion daily (or maybe better – practice my religion – since I’m still learning/failing/trying/growing). In Church or out of church.  At home, while folding clothes.  Standing in line at the bank. Picking out produce in the store.  Wiping noses and changing diapers.  Living it.  Daily.  Not something I “do” for an hour once a week.

I know, this pales in comparison to some of the jaw droppers she’s come up with –  the whole “gotta pass it to see what’s in it” schtick…but that one sentence grabbed me today and really really saddened me.

Update: Listed in Sunday’s Best of the Blogroll by The Daley Gator thank you!

 

6 Responses

  1. Well said, TmT. I long for the day when the Pelosis of the political world are shown the door of the church and unceremoniously booted out of it. (And thanks for the post while we dig our way out of boxes lol).

  2. Sad, but not surprising.

  3. Nancy Pelosi has become a laughing stock, a truely stock character that enters stage left for comic relief. She’s making me double over. LOL!

  4. I don’t think it really does pale in comparison, it shows that she is clueless even on things that she herself says matters to her. If you are just “doing” church. Then it doesn’t mean anything, really.,

    • Sadly, you are correct – it doesn’t mean anything until and unless she uses it to speak “as a Catholic” (which apparently the Bishops can’t or don’t do…)

Leave a Reply

