Obamanet, anyone? (And I used to moan about my monthly internet cost)

At least I pay my own damn bill. Don Surber seems a bit put out as well over the news of stimulus funds paying for unnecessary rural internet access:

Nick Schulz of the American Enterprise Institute reported: We spent an average of $349,234 per household to bring broadband to rural households with annual incomes of $40,100 to $50,900 in homes worth an average of $94,400 to $189,000.

And even that gets worse.We spent up to $7 million wiring some of these homes.

From Nick Schulz: “Back in the 1980s there was an uproar over wasteful Pentagon spending. The Air Force spent $7,622 on a coffee maker and the Navy spent $640 per toilet seat. That’s extremely wasteful, but at least the Pentagon arguably needed coffee makers and toilet seats. The seven households in Montana for whom taxpayers just spent $7 million each to extend broadband access probably don’t even want it.”

And these Bozos demand higher taxes?

For what?

To use as toilet paper in the White House?

I am counting the days till November 6, 2012.

You and me both.

UPDATE: linked by Pundette as a “Featured Blog.” Thanks!

2 Responses

Leave a comment