I’m with her: Lan astaslem

Michelle Malkin attended a memorial service this morning at America the Beautiful Park here in Colorado Springs.

I attended Mass.

She left inspired and with her resolve intact.

I left angry and disillusioned.

My husband and I looked at each other in near disbelief this morning as our priest derided the aftermath of 9/11 much like Paul Krugman did. The priest mentioned revenge and vengeance. Krugman invoked the “false heroes” of Bernie Keric, Rudy Guiliani, and George W. Bush. The priest then offered the ultimate solution: forgiveness.

I can forgive this display:

But I will not forget.

In my heart, I cannot forgive this:

Flight 175 just before impacting the South Tower

Nor do I think I should.

This doesn’t bring to mind revenge and vengeance. Before the turn-the-other-cheek homily this morning, I wrote:

Shame isn’t my first thought of 9/11 and its aftermath. Service, sacrifice and perseverance are. And it shames me to know that there are others–other Krugmans out there–who fail to understand.

What does my priest fail to understand? This isn’t about forgiveness. This isn’t about revenge. This is an epic fight of good and evil. This is survival. There’s no 7 x 70 in survival.

Michelle Malkin writes:

Remembrance is worthless without resolve.

Resolve is useless without action.

But what is it exactly that you resolve?

I will not surrender.

Linked as a “Featured Blog” by Pundette. Thanks!

3 Responses

  1. I think that for most people, there is a fundamental misunderstanding between “turn the other cheek” and “roll over and play dead”. There are plenty of martyrs throughout Christendom, many of whom accepted death even if they may had the option of escape, and many of whom did forgive the people who persecuted them – such are the things that make them saints.

    However, as Christians, I believe that we are still called to stand up for what is right. The martyrs died because they would not submit, and I believe, it becomes the charge of all Christians to stand up for what we believe. When it comes to ourselves, though, it is permissible to accept death, but when it comes to others, particularly those who cannot fight for themselves, it becomes our duty to do what is necessary to defend them.

    I believe my priest has been trying to walk that fine line these last couple of Sundays, but I’m sure that it hasn’t been an easy thing to hear for most people, particularly since many in the parish are Arab Christians. Then again, Christianity has never been an easy road.

  2. Really powerful post.

Leave a Reply

